Workplace Based Assessment WPBA

Workplace Based Assessment (WPBA) is one of the three components of the MRCGP exam.

WPBA and ARCP guidance from 1 January 2021

From 1 January 2021, the requirements for WPBA will change from the interim requirements currently in place. Guidance on these changes has been developed by the RCGP and COGPED:


Workplace Based Assessment (WPBA) purpose statement

WPBA evaluates the trainee's progress in areas of professional practice best tested in the workplace and: 

  • looks at the trainee's performance in their day to day practice to provide evidence for learning and reflection based on real experiences
  • supports and drives learning in important areas of capability with an underlying theme of patient safety
  • provides constructive feedback on areas of strength and developmental needs, identifying trainees who may be in difficulty and need more help
  • evaluates aspects of professional behaviour that are difficult to assess in the Applied Knowledge Test and Clinical Skills Assessment
  • determines fitness to progress towards completion of training.

Evidence of WPBA, as approved by the GMC, includes the completion of specific assessments and reports, the documentation of naturally occurring evidence as well as certain mandatory requirements such as Child safeguarding and Basic Life Support. More information on the requirements for WPBA can be found below.

WPBA format

WPBA is designed to support your development, providing feedback on your progress and helping to identify any areas of difficulty.

Throughout your GP specialty training, you collect evidence related to 13 areas of professional capability and record it in your Trainee Portfolio. This evidence is used to inform six-monthly reviews and - at the end of training - to make a judgement about your readiness for independent practice.

WPBA requirements have changed in August 2020. Please review the transition arrangements.

The current assessments have been updated along with the introduction of new assessments. This was needed to reflect and respond to the changes in General Practice, the new RCGP curriculum, and the mandatory requirements of the GMC. Some assessments have changed completely, others have undergone minor modifications.

For those of you who are familiar with WPBA, the Competency descriptors have not changed, and the basis on which you are judged and the level you are required to attain by the end of your training is also unchanged. Competences have been renamed and are now called Capabilities to fit with the new curriculum.;

More useful information

Fraser Rose Medal

Page last updated: 21 June 2021 (shielding guidance updated)

The item has been added to your basket.

Continue shopping

Go to basket

This item is out of stock.

Continue shopping

The item is out of stock.

Yes Continue shopping

An error occurred adding your item to the basket:

Continue shopping