South Yorkshire, North Trent Faculty

Welcome from South Yorkshire North Trent Faculty. South Yorkshire North Trent Faculty (SYNT) supports over 1100 members, Fellows, Associates and Associates in Training in the South Yorkshire area, which covers Sheffield, Rotherham, Barnsley, Doncaster, Chesterfield and Worksop. As a Faculty, we offer excellent CPD courses and professional training courses. Alongside supporting our local GPs, we also strive to be the first point of contact for our members. Members of the Faculty contribute to shaping the future of general practice by having a say in issues pertinent to GPs which is then fed back to College Council.

Join the community

Explore our opportunities

Get to know us

Get in touch

Get involved

Upcoming events

We rely on members to play an active role locally, promoting the College and the Faculty aims and objectives but also to bring ideas to the Faculty about how we can continue to improve the services that we offer. All members are welcome to attend Faculty board meetings which take place online via Zoom.

View all learning and social events in South Yorkshire and North Trent

Local training and development

RCGP Fellowship

November 2023

The Faculty actively encourages its members of five years plus standing to consider putting themselves forward for Fellowship. We have a Faculty Fellowship Committee (FFC) within the Faculty, led by our Provost, Dr Dominic Patterson. The FFC can offer advice and support through the faculty office. For more information view the Fellowship page.

Membership for All

November 2023

Membership for all means any GPs who have been on the GMC GP register for a minimum of five years and have completed at least one revalidation cycle (or completed CEGPR) will now be eligible to apply for membership via a new, inclusive route. For more information, visit the Membership for all webpage.

Meet your faculty

Faculty Officers

Karen Forshaw, Chair
Dr Dominic Patterson, Provost
Dr Sylvia Kana, Vice Chair and IMG Lead

  • Dr Rahul Kacker, Honorary Treasurer
  • Dr Emma Wong, First5 Lead and Nationally Elected Council Rep 
  • Dr Janet Hall, Council Representative

Faculty Board Members

  • Dr Prabhu Shanmugam
  • Dr Alan Shirley
  • Dr Emmanuel Okeleke
  • Dr Suman Thullimali
  • Dr Ben Jackson
  • Dr Karen Forshaw - Mid-Career GP Representative
  • Ria Agarwal - AHP Rep
  • Maria Hadley-Howell - AHP Rep
  • Professor Chris Burton - Professor of Primary Medical Care, Sheffield University
  • Dr Sylvia Kama
  • Dr Mike Cooper - First5 Lead
  • Dr Sarah Clubb - EDI Lead
  • Jake Bertie - Clinical Pharmacist Rep
  • Dr Helen Twohig - Climate Change and Sustainability Rep
  • Anakin Mallick - GPSoc
  • Dr Gireesha Verma - AiT Rep
  • Dr Justine Dunning - AiT Rep
  • Dr Marta Lewandowska - AiT Rep
  • Dr Lee Oughton
  • Dr Sufian Ali

Contact us

RCGP South Yorkshire North Trent Faculty Office
The Outset
Sankey Street

Telephone: 020 3188 7785

Office opening hours: 08:30 - 16:00, Monday to Friday.

Your local Faculty Administrator is Antonia Ford

Follow us

Useful links

Current job opportunities in North England