South London Faculty

Welcome from the South London Faculty. We support over 1950 Members, Fellows, Associates and Associates in Training throughout the South London area. One of our main priorities is to engage with all members, especially new members. We recognise the need for support and advice during the transition from registrar to principal in the first year of College membership, and so we are developing networking and social events to assist with this. You can find out more by emailing us and keeping up-to-date with the latest newsletters and events.

Join the community

See what's on offer

Get to know us

Get in touch

Get involved

Upcoming events

The Faculty is committed to supporting your professional development and wellbeing through engagement, networking and social events run across the calendar year. Many of these are offered to members free of charge. All our events can be found by searching our courses and events.

View all learning and social events in South London

Board meetings

We hold quarterly board meetings in February, June, September and November, to discuss a range of topics surrounding general practice and what further support could be offered to GPs at all stages of their career. We also have representation on College Council to feedback on issues discussed here.

We also have enhanced the role of Faculty representation at Council, and as a Board hope to gain more grass roots views on issues or motions to present to the national RCGP Council. Please do get in touch as Dr David Mummery would be happy to put something forward if it is an issue you are passionate about and feel the RCGP could be doing more on.

RCGP London AiT / First5 Committee

This organisation has been established about 10 years ago to represent the interests of GP Trainees across London. It is supported by all three RCGP London Faculties (North East, North and West, and South London). Current Committee Chair is our own South London First5 Lead, Dr Alexander Lai. Committee hosts four meetings a year. For more information please contact us.

Awards and prizes

The Elton John AIDS Foundation

September 2023

The Elton John AIDS Foundation are delighted to be working with the RCGP South London Faculty to annually award a GP trainee on placement in a Primary care practice located within the RCGP South London faculty*, who has or can demonstrate through an audit, QIP or project that they have made a significant contribution to either HIV testing, improving HIV care (including retention in care) or care of people living with HIV.

*post code areas - CR0, CR2, CR3, CR4, CR5, CR6, CR7, CR8, SE1, SE10, SE11, SE12, SE13, SE14, SE15, SE16, SE17, SE18, SE19, SE2, SE20, SE21, SE22, SE23, SE24, SE25, SE26, SE27, SE28, SE3, SE4, SE5, SE6, SE7, SE8, SE9, SW1, SW10, SW11, SW12, SW13, SW14, SW15, SW16, SW17, SW18, SW19, SW1A, SW1E, SW1H, SW1P, SW1V, SW1W, SW1X, SW1Y, SW2, SW20, SW3, SW4, SW5, SW6, SW8, SW9, TW17

The winning application will receive a monetary prize of £1000 which will be presented in person at the Faculty AGM in October 2022.

To be considered for the award trainees will need to complete the RCGP SL and Elton John application form including statements that describe the issue, intervention and impact of your audit, QIP or project towards either HIV testing, improving HIV care (including retention in care) or care of people living with HIV, this work must have undertaken place between 1/9/2022 – 31/08/2023.

Closing date for applications: 15 September 2023, 12pm

WONCA 2023

January 2023

The South London Faculty offers several bursaries of £500 for South London Faculty members to attend the WONCA Europe and WONCA World conference each year. The new WONCA applications will be open early in 2023 and more details will be available here towards the end of the year.

Cash Prize

January 2023

We offer two cash prizes (£250 each) to nominated AiTs from Kings and St Georges each year. The prize is presented at the Faculty AGM.

Meet your faculty

Faculty Officers

Dr Ellen Wright, Chair

  • Prof Anne Stephenson, Provost and Fellowship Lead
  • Dr Tabassum Khandker, Vice-Chair
  • Dr Eugenia Lee, Honorary Secretary
  • Dr Bernadette (Maria) Veiras, Honorary Treasurer

Board Officers

  • Dr Catherine Millington-Sanders, Education Lead
  • Dr David Mummery, Council Rep
  • Dr Steve Mowle, 2nd Council Rep

Board Committee Leads / Lay Member

  • Dr Meera Kumar, AiT Rep (national)
  • Dr Devina Maru, AiT Rep (national)
  • Dr Veena Aggarwal, Climate Change & Sustainability Lead
  • Dr Alexander Lai, First5 Rep
  • Dr Isaiah Atugba, First5 Rep/Joint EDI Lead
  • Dr Waqaar Shah, International Lead
  • Dr Ekene Clair Agbim, Joint EDI Lead
  • Mr Mark Justice, Lay Rep
  • Dr Monica Aquilina, LCaRM Rep

Board Members

  • Dr Nabila Alam
  • Dr Aya Aeyob
  • Dr Subir Bali
  • Dr Sadiya Ayez
  • Dr Induja Bandara
  • Dr Kheelna Bavalia
  • Dr Maria Drakou
  • Dr Johannes Driessen
  • Dr Agnelo Fernandes
  • Dr Maryem George
  • Dr Dylan Goh
  • Dr Anirban Gupta
  • Dr Heather MacFarlane
  • Dr Rebecca Mackenzie
  • Dr Laura Mindel
  • Dr Yasmin Rahman
  • Dr Rathy Ramanathan
  • Dr Agalya Ramanathan
  • Dr Judy Roberts
  • Dr Salik Sait
  • Dr Katie Scott
  • Dr Ashvini Shastri
  • Dr John Spicer
  • Dr David Wheeler
  • Dr Martin Wong
  • Dr Stephen Woolford

Contact us

RCGP South London Faculty
30 Euston Square

Telephone: 020 3188 7411

Office opening hours: 09:00 - 17:00, Monday to Friday.

Your local Faculty Administrator Debbie Board

Follow us