Search the Curriculum topics using a keyword or phrase. Separate words or phrases with a comma.

How the curriculum is structured

You are viewing an old version of curriculum. Click here to view the the new RCGP curriculum.

The curriculum is organised in sections. The first section is this core curriculum statement, Being a General Practitioner. This defines the five broad Areas of Capability on which the curriculum is based. These Areas of Capability are then broken down into specific Core Capabilities and Competences. Relevant MRCGP assessments are shown and further references and a reading list are provided.

Image showing the GP curriculum structure

The remainder of the curriculum consists of a series of modules that explore the Core Capabilities in more depth. The first group, the Professional Modules, cover important professional areas of practice such as consulting, patient safety, leadership and self-directed learning. The second group, the Clinical Modules, illustrate some of the areas of clinical practice you will encounter as a GP. These modules are intended as examples and should not be viewed as a complete list of every topic you will need to learn as a GP.


The item has been added to your basket.

Continue shopping

Go to basket

This item is out of stock.

Continue shopping

The item is out of stock.

Yes Continue shopping

An error occured adding your item to the basket:

Continue shopping