Research Awards

Celebrating excellence in primary care research is an important part of the Research Programme at the RCGP. These awards celebrate research and help to promote them to GPs and the wider primary healthcare community.

Research Paper of the Year Award 

Since 1996, the annual Research Paper of the Year Award has given recognition to an individual or group of researchers who have undertaken and published an exceptional piece of high quality research relating to general practice or primary care. Authors of the award-winning paper are invited to present at the RCGP Annual Conference. This award is not restricted to members of the RCGP.

The call for nominating papers is now closed

The overall winner will be selected from category winning research papers.

Entries were submitted under one of the following categories.  

  • Medical Education – related to primary care
  • Health Service Research – including Public Health and Implementation
  • Clinical Research 

For further information, email or phone 020 3188 7594.

Research Paper of the Year 2018 Winners

The winners of Research Paper of the Year 2017 - awarded in 2018: a summary of their papers can be seen on British Journal of General Practice

Yvonne Carter Award for Outstanding Early Career Researcher 2019

The £1,000 award recognises the contributions of early career researchers in advancing the discipline of academic primary care. It is intended to enable the successful candidate to meet and collaborate with researchers in other countries.

Call for applications now closed

Professor Yvonne Carter CBE was an outstanding and inspirational leader who had a remarkable impact on academic general practice. To commemorate her contribution to primary care research the Royal College of General Practitioners, through its Scientific Foundation Board, and the Society for Academic Primary Care have jointly instituted the Yvonne Carter Award for Outstanding Early Career Researcher.

For further information, please contact the Research team at or phone 020 3188 7594.

Clinical Research Awards 2019 

The call for applications is now open

Offered by RCGP Scientific Foundation Board and National Institute for Health Research (NIHR) Clinical Research Network, these awards are open to RCGP members and recognise research active NHS GPs and general practices that are demonstrating excellence and innovation in delivering NIHR research.

Applicants are required to outline their contribution to NIHR Clinical Research Network Portfolio studies with particular weight being attached to:
the range and number of patients in NIHR Clinical Research Network studies; 
how patients have been engaged and informed of new opportunities to participate in clinical research; 
the contribution made to the delivery of studies; 
innovative methods of study delivery.

As part of the application process the applicants will have to set out what activities they plan to carry out in the future to improve research delivery.

The applications are now closed.

The awards will be presented during the RCGP Annual Conference on 23 October 2019 in Liverpool. Applicants must be available to attend award ceremony on 23 October 2019.

The 2018 winners:

  • First5® award – Dr Rachel Spencer, Park Leys Medical Practice, Coventry
  • Practice award – Claremont Medical Practice, Exmouth

Find courses & events

The item has been added to your basket.

Continue shopping

Go to basket

This item is out of stock.

Continue shopping

The item is out of stock.

Yes Continue shopping

An error occured adding your item to the basket:

Continue shopping