RCGP UK awards

Our awards recognise the contributions made by people working in general practice. In many cases, awards are made possible by generous contributions from RCGP members and sponsor organisations.

Find out more on how to nominate someone for an award

For full criteria and nomination forms, contact secretariat@rcgp.org.uk or telephone 020 3188 7534/7537. 

RCGP Adolescent Health Care Award 2018

Deadline for poster submission: Closed for 2018 - end of June each year
To encourage GPs to provide higher standards of care for their teenage patients. A discretionary prize of £250 will be awarded to the best poster on the theme of Adolescent Health Care for the 2018 RCGP Annual Primary Care Conference.  The conference will take from 4-6 October 2018 in Glasgow. This award is made in memory of Dr Kathy Phipps, an active and enthusiastic member of the RCGP Adolescent Health Group. Details about how to apply can be found here. Conference Details and Poster Submission Guidelines.

Clinical Excellence Awards for Senior Academic General Practitioners

The RCGP is the nominating body for senior academic general practitioners for the Clinical Excellence Awards at national level.  Applications for the year have now closed but latest information on the awards can be found on the ACCEA Website 

Discovery Prize

The Discovery Prize is awarded every three years for outstanding research in general practice. Important discoveries in general practice have transformed health care and the wellbeing of patients. The Discovery Prize recognises contemporary achievement of similar stature with continuing major importance for primary care in the UK and overseas.

Foundation council award

Deadline: end of March each year

One of the College's top awards, given for special meritorious work in connection with the College. 

Fraser Rose Medal and the RACGP Trainee's Book Prize

The Fraser Rose Medal is awarded annually to the candidate who in completing the examination and concluding their training, has demonstrated outstanding performance to the panel of examiners. 

It was instituted by the Merseyside and North Wales faculty in 1972 and named in honour of Dr Fraser Rose who took a leading part in the formation of the RCGP.

The Royal Australian College donates a Trainee's Book Prize each year to be awarded to the Fraser Rose Medal winner.

George Abercrombie award

Awarded from time to time for special meritorious literary work in general practice. The nominations are put to the Editorial Board of BJGP in the first instance and the Board’s recommendation are put forward to the Fellowship and Awards Committee for consideration in April.  

GP Specialty trainee award

Deadline for applications: Closed for 2018 - end of July each year

Awarded for original and innovative work undertaken during GP specialty training. Up to five awards will be available to attend the 2018 RCGP Annual Primary Care Conference

Honorary fellowships

Deadline for nominations: end of March and August each year.

Honorary Fellowship is the College's most important award, awarded for outstanding work towards the objectives of the College.

Inspiring the Future Awards

Nomination deadline: 28 August 2018

The Inspiring the Future Awards are a celebration of exemplary student & FY engagement work undertaken by medical students, foundation doctors and members of the RCGP. The awards will be presented at the Inspiring the Future Celebration taking place as part of the RCGP Annual Conference on the evening of Friday 5 October.

Make your nominations now and see last year's winners.

John Fry award

Deadline: Nominations to SAPC Now closed

Recommendation to RCGP by end of February each Year

The John Fry Award is an award by nomination normally presented each year by the Royal College of General Practitioners (RCGP), in consultation with the Society of Academic Primary Care (SAPC).  

The John Fry Award is presented to a Member or Fellow of the College who has promoted the discipline of general practice through research and publishing. The award is intended to encourage people to undertake research as a practising GP early on in their career and within 20 years of qualification as a GP.

John Horder award

Deadline: Closed for 2018 - end of March each year

The John Horder award recognises exceptional contributions by members of RCGP staff and will be presented at the College's Annual General Meeting.

The Chair of the Fellowship and Awards Committee invites nominations each year.

Michael Drury Award

Deadline: Closed for 2018 - end of March each year

The Michael Drury Award recognises exceptional service by a staff member working out with the College headquarters. The award is presented at the College's Spring General Meeting.

The Chair of the Fellowship and Awards Committee invites nominations each year

Paul Freeling award

Deadline: 8 March 2019

Award or awards of up to £1,000 for innovative or meritorious work in the field of GP Specialty Training for general practice. 

The President's Medal

Deadline for nominations: end of March each year

The President's Medal is for a Member or Fellow who has achieved the most to promote the aims and objectives of the College. 

RCGP membership under ordinance 4(2)

Deadline for nominations: end of March and August each year.

Given in exceptional individual cases to doctors who have made a significant contribution to primary care, and for whom sitting the examination would be inappropriate at the stage they have reached in their career.

RCGP-SAPC Annual elective prize

Deadline: end of May each year

An annual prize of £500 is awarded for the best proposal by a medical student for an elective based in Primary Care/General Practice. The proposal might be to submit a relevant ‘think piece’, research, improvement, innovation, invention, evaluation or audit.

RCGP Certificate of commendation

RCGP Certificate of Commendation is presented for outstanding contributions to the discipline of general practice and primary care. 

Candidates for the award should normally be either long standing Members of the College or non medical people associated with general practice or the wider field of primary care.

Rose prize

Deadline: 18 January 2019

The biennial Rose Prize for original work in the history of British general practice is now open to entries.

• Rose Prize flier [PDF]  
• Rose Prize criteria [PDF]  

Previous College Awards

RCGP awards are usually presented at the College's Spring Annual General Meeting. Details of past winners are available here:

Research awards and travel scholarships

We also offer a number of awards and scholarships recognising achievements in research and helping practitioners gain international experience.

RCGP Lecturers

  • The William Pickles Lecture given at the Spring General Meeting and It is usually on a topic related to education.
  • The James Mackenzie Lecture given at the AGM and the topic usually relates to an aspect of clinical medicine.
  • The John Hunt Lecture delivered once during each College presidency.


The item has been added to your basket.

Continue shopping

Go to basket

This item is out of stock.

Continue shopping

The item is out of stock.

Yes Continue shopping

An error occured adding your item to the basket:

Continue shopping