RCGP Scotland awards

RCGP Scotland run three awards each year to recognise high quality care and outstanding service in general practice within Scotland.

Alastair Donald Award

This award recognises outstanding achievement in the areas of service delivery, education, research and wider contribution to society. The award is open to any RCGP member or fellow in Scotland.

You can nominate someone if you’re an AiT, member or fellow of RCGP in good standing by writing to us to tell us why you feel your colleague should be considered for the award. Your nomination will need to be seconded with a letter from another AiT, member or fellow in good standing. 

Previous winners of the Alastair Donald Award -

Dr Jane Bruce             Dr Ken McLean
Dr Miles Mack             Dr Roy Robertson
Dr James Douglas      Dr Alex Watson
Dr Bill Taylor               Dr Tricia Donald

Alastair Donald Award Terms of Reference 2016 [Word]

Closing date for nominations for the 2016 award is the 30 September 2016.

GP of the Year Scotland

Any patient in Scotland can nominate their GP for this award. It recognises high quality care that goes above and beyond the call of duty.

To nominate your GP please fill out and submit the nomination form below

The closing date for nominations for the 2016 award is the 30 September 2016.

Practice Team Award

Practice teams can nominate themselves for this award. It recognises the outstanding work of GP practice teams in Scotland, and the high standard of quality patient care they achieve.

To nominate your practice please fill out and submit the application form below

The closing date for applications for the 2016 award is the 30 September 2016

Contact us

For more information, or to submit a nomination for an RCGP Scotland award, contact the Scotland Awards Team at

RCGP Scotland, 25 Queen Street, Edinburgh, EH2 1JX

020 3188 7750/7749




Find courses & events

The item has been added to your basket.

Continue shopping

Go to basket

This item is out of stock.

Continue shopping

The item is out of stock.

Yes Continue shopping

An error occured adding your item to the basket:

Continue shopping