Five RCGP Presidential candidates announced

Publication date: 12 April 2017

Five candidates are vying to succeed Dr Terry Kemple as our next President of the Royal College of General Practitioners, when his two-year term comes to an end in November.

Contesting the seat are:

  • Professor Rodger Charlton, West Midlands GP and undergraduate GP curriculum lead at Leicester Medical School;
  • Dr John Chisholm, College Health and Work Lead and BMA Council Member;
  • Professor Roger Jones, Editor of the British Journal of General Practice and emeritus professor in general practice at King’s College London;
  • Professor Mayur Lakhani, Leicestershire GP who was College Chair between 2004-2007 and immediate past Chair of the National Council for Palliative Care;
  • and Dr Paul Myres, former RCGP Wales Chair and Chair of the Academy of Medical Royal Colleges in Wales.

The RCGP President is the ceremonial  head of the College. Unlike the other Medical Royal Colleges, at RCGP it is the Chair of Council - currently Professor Helen Stokes-Lampard - who leads on strategic direction and policy of the College.

Voting will open on Monday 1 May and close at midday on Wednesday 31 May. Members and Fellows in good standing are eligible to vote in the election, which will be conducted officially and independently by the Electoral Reform Services (ERS). For the first time Associates in Training will also be eligible to vote.

The Presidential candidates’ video election statements may be viewed here when voting opens:

Also on Monday 1 May, voting will commence for six Nationally-Elected Council Member seats, which will become vacant from November 2017. The six successful candidates will sit for three years.

Those standing are Dr Stuart Blake, Dr John Cosgrove, Professor Clare Gerada, Dr Robert Hampton, Dr Martyn Hewett, Dr Chandra Kanneganti, Professor Mayur Lakhani and Dr Jonathan Leach.

Also running in parallel, for the first time, will be elections for Chair of the College’s Associates in Training Committee and First5 Committee, voted for by AiT members and First5 members respectively.

Standing for AiT Chair are Dr Sophie Langfield and Dr Oliver Prescott. Standing for First5 Chair are Dr Jodie Blackadder–Coward, Dr Rachael Marchant. Dr Jenny Moss-Langfield and Dr Dilsher Singh.

Professor Helen Stokes-Lampard, RCGP Chair, said: “Thank you to everyone who has thrown their hat in the ring to stand for College Office. All of our candidates for each of these elections are respected GPs or GP trainees with a wide variety of experience and different perspectives. Good luck to you all.

“Getting involved in the College should be encouraged at every stage of a GP’s career - my own involvement began as a trainee rep on Council many years ago when I wanted to be sure that the views of trainees were being heard, and I’ve never looked back. I’m delighted that we’ll be running elections for those whose career is just beginning, right through to those who have decades of experience of general practice.

“I am so pleased that Council comprises such a diverse, energetic group of GPs who are all determined to make our profession and working lives the best they can be.

“All Members and Fellows in good standing have a vote, and I’d strongly urge them to use it when the ballots open on 1 May. It’s essential that our College remains democratic and representative of our fantastic frontline GPs who go that extra mile every day on behalf of patients.”


Further Information

RCGP Press office: 020 3188 7574/7575/7633
Out of hours: 0203 188 7659

Notes to editor

The Royal College of General Practitioners is a network of more than 52,000 family doctors working to improve care for patients. We work to encourage and maintain the highest standards of general medical practice and act as the voice of GPs on education, training, research and clinical standards.

The item has been added to your basket.

Continue shopping

Go to basket

This item is out of stock.

Continue shopping

The item is out of stock.

Yes Continue shopping

An error occured adding your item to the basket:

Continue shopping